GP
Market Place Surgery
Market Place, Kinsale, Co. Cork, P17 HR25
A four doctor general practice in Kinsale town centre, founded in 1979, which also runs a second surgery at Haven Bay beside the community school. Both sites have ground floor entrances and are part of the Kinsale Primary Care Team. Appointments are made by phone or in person, with walk-in clinics each morning for urgent problems, and new patients are welcome. Basic fees are published, with a GP consultation at 65 euro.
Summarised from the provider’s website, marketplacesurgery.ie, checked 7 October 2026.
- Children
- Older adults
- Home visits
Services and care available
Access and schemes
- Medical card accepted
- GP visit card accepted
- Walk-in, no appointment
- Accepting new patients
- Fees published
Vaccinations
- Flu vaccination
- Travel vaccinations
Checks and tests
- Blood tests
- 24 hour blood pressure monitoring
- Cervical screening
- ECG
Procedures and treatments
- Cryosurgery
- Minor surgery
Women’s, children’s and family care
- Antenatal care
Medicals and reports
- Driving licence reports
- Insurance and medico-legal reports
Other services
- Asthma and diabetes clinics
- Warfarin clinic
- Well person checks
Confirmed on marketplacesurgery.ie, checked 7 October 2026.
A service not listed here may still be offered; our sources simply do not mention it.
Appointments
- How to get an appointment
- Phone 021 4772717 or call in to the surgery. Urgent cases get priority and there is a walk-in clinic each morning at both sites. Ask for a longer slot when booking minor surgery, a six week baby check or several family members. House calls are arranged where the doctor considers them appropriate; ring early in the morning if you are housebound.
- New patients
- New patients are welcome: contact reception with your details, then at the first visit complete a transfer of records form. Medical card and GP visit card holders also complete a change of doctor form.
- Medical card and GP visit card
- Medical card and GP visit card patients are registered, including under 6s and over 70s GP visit cards.
- Out of hours
- SouthDoc, 0818 355 999, from 6pm on weekdays and at weekends and bank holidays; the treatment centre is at Bandon Primary Care Centre and a call out service exists for those unable to travel. Call 999 in an emergency.
Confirmed on marketplacesurgery.ie, checked 7 October 2026.
Published fees
| Service | Price | Note |
|---|---|---|
| GP consultation | €65 per visit | |
| GP consultation with blood tests | €80 per visit | |
| GP follow up within one week for the same problem | €45 per visit | |
| Nurse consultation | €45 per visit | |
| Driving licence medical | €65 per report | |
| Prescription | €20 per prescription | |
| Medical certificate | €20 per certificate |
Prices in euro as published by the provider on 7 October 2026. Source page.
Hours and location
Opening hours
| Monday | 9am to 12.30pm, 2.30pm to 5.30pm(closes for a break) |
|---|---|
| Tuesday | 9am to 12.30pm, 2.30pm to 5.30pm(closes for a break) |
| Wednesday | 9am to 12.30pm, 2.30pm to 5.30pm(closes for a break) |
| Thursdaytoday | 9am to 12.30pm, 2.30pm to 5.30pm(closes for a break) |
| Friday | 9am to 12.30pm, 2.30pm to 5.30pm(closes for a break) |
| Saturday | Not stated |
| Sunday | Not stated |
Days marked “not stated” are not in the source; that does not mean closed. Source: Provider website, checked 7 October 2026.
Same hours at the Haven Bay surgery.
Address and directions
Market Place, Kinsale, Co. Cork, P17 HR25
Get directions
- Accessibility
- Both surgeries are purpose built with ground floor entrances.
Confirmed on marketplacesurgery.ie, checked 7 October 2026.
Practical questions
- Listed by the HSE as
- GP practice
Confirmed on www2.hse.ie, checked 24 September 2026.
Other gps nearby
Nearest by straight-line distance.
Sources and last checked
- GP: Source: HSE, Find a GP, checked 24 September 2026. Record HSE GP 1168. Practice details from the HSE Find a GP service (www2.hse.ie).
- Overview, services, contact channels and practical details: Source: marketplacesurgery.ie, checked 7 October 2026. Not stated there: weekend hours, online booking, fees for Implanon, minor surgery and travel vaccinations (ask at reception).
- Opening hours: Source: Provider website, checked 7 October 2026.
- Check dates are when FairCare read the source, not a confirmation by the provider. Suggest a correction.